Best Portable Dishwashers
Roundup · Portable Dishwashers Under $400

The best portable dishwashers under $400.

Two hundred and fifty dollars buys a machine that runs four place settings off a tank and calls it a day. Push the budget toward $400 and the corners that got cut start getting uncut: a sixth place setting, an integrated water softener, an ENERGY STAR certification. We compared four countertop dishwashers clustered right at that price line on published specs, water source and live price — not on invented star ratings.

By Ilane Tall · Updated September 15, 2026 · Research-based.

A stainless-look countertop dishwasher on a kitchen counter with its door open, showing a full rack of clean plates and glasses

Reader-supported: we may earn a commission when you buy through the links on this page, at no additional cost to you. Prices move constantly — confirm the live price before you order.

The portable-dishwasher shelf splits roughly into two prices: a crowd of tank-fed minis under $300, and a smaller band that pushes toward $400 for a bigger rack, a faucet connection that doesn't need refilling, or a feature the cheap machines skip entirely. The four machines below sit inside that upper band — priced between $339 and $369 at the time we checked — and each earns its place there for a different reason: one for its place-setting count, one for a water softener nothing cheaper offers, two for keeping the tank option that pricier faucet-only machines drop.

None of them is a full 18-inch dishwasher on wheels; all four are countertop machines, sized to sit beside the sink rather than roll across the kitchen. If you've already decided you want the bigger class instead, the full buyer's guide covers where an 18-inch model fits and what it costs. This page is for the reader asking a narrower question: at $400, what does a countertop dishwasher actually get you that a $250 one doesn't, and which of the current options is worth it.

How this page is built

We compare published specifications, what ships in the box, water source, capacity and live pricing. We do not physically test these machines, we do not run a testing lab, and we do not publish ratings we cannot verify — Amazon returns no rating and no review count for this category, so there are no stars anywhere on this site. Where a spec isn't published for a given model, we say so instead of guessing, and we treat manufacturer capacity and dimension figures as claims, not measurements.

The upgrade

What $400 buys over the $250 shelf

Spend $250 and you're almost always in tank-only mini territory: a five-litre reservoir, four place settings or fewer, and a listing that quotes "30+ dishes" instead of a real count because the count wouldn't help the sale. Spend closer to $400 and three things start showing up that the cheap shelf mostly skips.

The first is a genuine place-setting jump. Of the four machines here, the Midea Countertop Dishwasher is the only one that states a six-place-setting capacity outright — up to 70 pieces, roughly what the entry-level $250 machines can't touch regardless of how their marketing rounds up. The second is certification: Midea's listing carries an ENERGY STAR designation, a spec that's routinely absent from budget listings and worth checking against our separate rundown of the best ENERGY STAR portable dishwashers if efficiency is the deciding factor for you.

The third is a feature that has nothing to do with washing more dishes and everything to do with the water itself. The HAVA Countertop Dishwasher is built around an integrated water softener with a setting you match to your local hardness — a feature that essentially does not exist below this price band, because it adds a component the $250 machines are built to avoid. It's the clearest example of $400 buying a problem solved rather than a rack enlarged.

One thing worth being straightforward about: this band is also where some listings in the category start advertising a stainless-steel interior tub rather than plastic, which changes staining, odor retention and how well a load dries — the subject of our guide to stainless-tub portable dishwashers. None of the four machines in this roundup state their tub material in the published specification, so we're not going to claim one for them here. If a steel tub is the deciding feature for you, confirm it on the listing before you buy, or start from that dedicated guide instead.

Capacity

Place settings at this price: what actually feeds two people

A place setting is a defined unit — a dinner plate, a side plate or bowl, a glass, a cup and saucer, one person's cutlery — not a marketing word, which is why it's worth reading past the "30+ items" phrasing some of these listings still use.

Midea is the only one of the four that quotes a place-setting figure outright: up to six settings, around 70 pieces, plates to 10 inches, sized H17.25 × W22 × D20 inches. That width matters as much as the capacity — 22 inches is a serious stretch of countertop, and it's worth measuring your run before ordering, especially if the machine has to share space with a coffee maker or a drying rack. Our guide on where to put a portable dishwasher when there is no room walks through the measuring routine in more detail.

The NOVETE Portable Countertop Dishwasher is more conservative and more transparent about it: four full place settings, spelled out as four serving bowls, four cups, four small plates, four dinner plates, and seven each of spoons, forks and knives — 34 items total, and a listing that enumerates rather than rounds. It fits 12-inch plates if you load them at an angle, and measures 16.9 × 16.8 × 18.1 inches, a footprint closer to the cheap tank minis than to Midea's wider chassis.

The AIRMSEN Portable Countertop Dishwasher quotes "40+ items" and 12-inch plates at a slight angle, in a similar 16.75 × 16.86 × 18.05-inch body, but it does not translate that figure into a place-setting count the way NOVETE does. Forty-plus items sounds larger than NOVETE's spelled-out 34, but the two numbers aren't counted the same way, so treat it as a rough signal rather than a like-for-like comparison — ask the listing directly if the exact count decides your purchase. The HAVA Countertop Dishwasher publishes neither a place-setting number nor an item count; its listing talks about an "adjustable tableware basket" with "larger capacity" and stops there. That's not necessarily a smaller machine, but it is one you can't size against the other three on this specific number.

For a household of two, four honestly-counted settings is close to one full day of dishes if you're not throwing a dinner party; six is the point where you stop planning meals around when the machine last ran. Which of those matters to you should decide more of this purchase than the price gap between them does.

At a glance

The four machines compared

All figures are manufacturer specifications; prices are approximate and move constantly on Amazon.

DishwasherBest forWater sourceCapacity (claimed)Price
Midea Countertop DishwasherBest overallFaucet only6 settings, ~70 pieces$299.98Price
HAVA with Water SoftenerBest for hard waterNot stated — check listingNot stated$369.00Price
NOVETE CountertopBest no-plumbing pick5 L tank or faucet4 settings, 34 items$289.99Price
AIRMSEN CountertopBest extra drying time5 L tank or faucet40+ items (no settings figure)$319.99Price
The picks

Our four, and who each is for

01Best overall

Midea Countertop Dishwasher Portable, 6 Place Settings

For two or three people who want the biggest countertop rack in this price band
Countertop, faucet only · 6 place settings, up to 70 pieces · plates to 10 in · H17.25 × W22 × D20 in · ENERGY STAR

This is the only machine in the roundup that states a full six-place-setting capacity, and it's the reason to pick it over the smaller tank-fed models: six settings at roughly 70 pieces is the difference between running the machine once a day and running it twice. The cycle list is a step up too — Auto, Heavy, Normal, Quick, Rinse and Delicate, plus Extended Dry and Power Wash functions and a 1-to-24-hour delay start — and the ENERGY STAR designation is a real spec, not a marketing word, in a category where most listings carry none.

The trade-offThere's no water tank here — it connects to a faucet only, so a kitchen with a sprayer tap or no removable aerator can't use this one at all. At 22 inches wide it's also the largest footprint of the four, so measure your counter run before you order.

Midea six-place-setting countertop dishwasher
$300
6 place settingsCheck price →
02Hard water

HAVA Countertop Dishwasher with Water Softener

Anyone whose glasses come out of the rack cloudy no matter what they wash them with
Countertop · integrated water softener · softener setting by water hardness · optimised ECO mode · adjustable tableware basket

Hard water is the quiet killer of small dishwashers — it films the glassware, coats the heating element and eventually shortens the machine's working life — and almost nothing in the countertop category does anything about it. The HAVA is the exception: it integrates a softener you dial in to match your local water hardness, a feature normally reserved for full-size machines, alongside an optimized ECO mode and a redesigned adjustable rack. If limescale is a problem in your kitchen already, our broader roundup of the best portable dishwashers for hard water puts it up against other softener-equipped and filtration-based machines.

The trade-offThe published listing doesn't state a place-setting count, external dimensions or a water source — tank, faucet or both aren't specified, so confirm that detail on the current listing before you buy if it matters to your kitchen. You're also paying the most of the four here for a feature that does nothing if your water is already soft.

HAVA countertop dishwasher with integrated water softener
$369
Softener built inCheck price →
03No plumbing

NOVETE Portable Countertop Dishwasher, 5L Built-in Water Tank & Inlet Hose

Kitchens where the tap won't take an adapter, and anyone who wants an honest capacity number
Countertop · 5 L built-in tank or inlet hose · 4 place settings, 34 items enumerated · 16.9 × 16.8 × 18.1 in · 12 in plates at an angle

The NOVETE keeps the tank option that Midea drops, which matters if your faucet is a pull-down sprayer or has no removable aerator — fill five litres from a jug and it runs a complete cycle on power alone. It's also the most transparent listing of the four about what "four place settings" actually contains: four serving bowls, four cups, four small plates, four dinner plates, and seven each of spoons, forks and knives, rather than a vague item count. Five wash cycles include Normal, Speed, Soft, and a Baby Care/Heavy program that washes at 167°F for oily tableware and baby items.

The trade-offFour settings is a real ceiling for more than two people, and in tank mode you're refilling by hand between loads, which caps how much the machine can spend on rinsing. It's also the machine to skip if your faucet takes an adapter fine and you'd rather have Midea's extra two settings.

NOVETE countertop dishwasher with built-in water tank
$290
Tank or faucetCheck price →
04Extra drying time

AIRMSEN Portable Countertop Dishwasher, No Hookup Needed

Households of three or four who still want the tank option and a longer dry cycle
Countertop · 5 L built-in tank or faucet hose · 40+ items, plates to 12 in at an angle · 16.75 × 16.86 × 18.05 in · 72-hour ventilated storage

Like the NOVETE, this one supports both a built-in five-litre tank and a faucet hose, so it doesn't force the choice Midea does. Its published item count of 40-plus is higher than NOVETE's spelled-out 34, though the listing doesn't break that number into place settings the way NOVETE's does, so we'd treat it as a rough signal rather than a guaranteed larger capacity. Five wash programs — Normal, Speed, Glass, Baby Care and Fruit — are joined by two extras worth noting: an extra 60 minutes of drying time on top of the wash cycle, and 72 hours of ventilated interior storage meant to keep tableware hygienic between loads.

The trade-offThe 40+ item figure is harder to verify against the other machines here precisely because it isn't stated as a place-setting count — if that exact number decides your purchase, ask before you buy. At $319.99 it's essentially tied on price with NOVETE, so the deciding factor between the two is the extra drying time against NOVETE's more transparent capacity claim.

AIRMSEN countertop dishwasher with no hookup needed
$320
Tank or faucetCheck price →
Water source

Water tank or tap hookup at this price

Paying more doesn't automatically buy you a tank — in this roundup, it's almost the opposite. NOVETE and AIRMSEN, the two least expensive of the four at roughly $339, both keep the dual-mode design common further down the shelf: a five-litre built-in tank you fill by hand, or an inlet hose that connects to a standard faucet. Midea, at the top of the capacity chart, drops the tank entirely and connects to a faucet only. HAVA's listing doesn't specify a water source at all, which is worth confirming directly before you order if a tank matters to you.

The trade-off inside tank mode hasn't changed just because the price went up: five litres is one cycle's worth of water, so you're refilling by hand before every wash on the NOVETE and AIRMSEN, and that ceiling is part of why both machines top out well under Midea's six-place-setting claim. Faucet connection removes the refilling step entirely but needs a tap with a removable aerator and standard threads — pull-down and pull-out sprayer faucets, now common in newer kitchens and most rentals, generally won't accept the adapter. If that describes your kitchen, Midea's extra capacity is moot; the tank-equipped NOVETE or AIRMSEN is the only version of this purchase that works at all. Our breakdown of how much water a portable dishwasher really uses works through what a five-litre tank fill actually covers per cycle, and where that number comes from.

None of the four machines here plumb into a waste line — all of them, tank or faucet, pump dirty water out through a drain hose hooked over the edge of the sink, so even a tank model still needs to live within hose reach of a drain point, roughly level with or above it.

Drying

Drying: the feature most of them still get wrong

None of the four machines in this roundup lists a heated drying element, which is normal for the category — countertop dishwashers dry with residual heat, air circulation, or a timed extra cycle rather than the heating coil a full-size built-in uses. At $400 that hasn't changed; what's changed is how each maker tries to compensate.

Midea pairs its wash cycles with an Extended Dry function, meant to run longer than the standard programs to push more residual heat through the load — useful given the machine's larger six-setting rack has more surface area to dry. AIRMSEN takes a different approach: an extra 60 minutes of drying time layered on top of the wash cycle, plus 72 hours of ventilated interior storage afterward, which addresses dampness by managing it after the fact rather than eliminating it during the cycle. NOVETE's listing doesn't call out a dedicated dry function beyond its Baby Care/Heavy program's 167°F wash temperature, which leaves more residual heat in the tub than a cooler cycle would. HAVA's listing doesn't mention drying at all, which — like its unstated water source — is worth checking on the live listing rather than assuming.

The honest expectation across all four: plastic items and anything with a concave surface will hold water droplets more often than not, rinse aid helps because these machines lean on it more than a full-size dishwasher does, and a longer dry setting trades time for drier plates rather than eliminating the trade-off. Our guide to why a portable dishwasher cycle takes two hours breaks down where that time actually goes, including the drying phase. A tub that stays damp between loads is also the leading cause of the smell readers ask us about most, which is covered start to finish in why your portable dishwasher smells, and how to stop it.

The ceiling

When to stretch to an 18-inch model instead

Four hundred dollars is close to where the countertop class runs out of room to grow. Six place settings, an integrated softener and a longer dry cycle are real upgrades, but all four machines here are still sealed tubs sized for a worktop, not full dishwashers on their own footprint. If your household has outgrown six settings — three or more people cooking daily, or a habit of running the machine twice a day regardless of which of these four you own — the next step isn't a pricier countertop model, it's the other class entirely: an 18-inch freestanding dishwasher on castors, built around eight place settings, that rolls to the sink and back rather than living permanently on the counter.

That class runs closer to $585–$690 than to $400, so it's a different budget conversation, not a marginal upgrade — you're paying for roughly two more place settings and your counter back. It also draws more current during its wash-and-heat cycle, worth checking against your kitchen's circuit before committing; our guide on what a portable dishwasher needs from your outlet covers what to confirm either way. If you're not sure which class fits your kitchen, the full portable dishwasher buyer's guide compares both side by side.

Short version: stay in the $400 band if your faucet won't take an adapter, floor space is limited, or four to six settings covers your household. Stretch to 18-inch only once the extra $200–$300 buys a real, recurring problem it solves — not just a bigger number on the box.

FAQ

Common questions about the $400 band

Is $400 worth paying instead of a $250 countertop dishwasher?

It depends on which upgrade you actually need. The clearest jump is place-setting count — Midea's six settings against the four settings typical of $250 tank models — plus features the cheap shelf mostly skips, like HAVA's integrated water softener and Midea's ENERGY STAR certification. If your household genuinely fills more than four settings a day, or you have hard water, the extra $100–$120 buys a real fix. If neither applies, a $250 tank model does the same basic job.

Do any of these dishwashers come with a stainless steel tub?

None of the four machines in this roundup states its tub material in the published specification, so we're not asserting one has a stainless interior — that's the kind of claim we only make when the listing says so. A stainless tub does exist further up the category and changes staining, odor retention and drying; our dedicated guide to portable dishwashers with a stainless steel tub covers the models that state it outright.

Can I run these dishwashers without connecting to a faucet?

Two of the four can: the NOVETE and the AIRMSEN both support a built-in five-litre water tank as an alternative to a faucet hose, so they'll run from a jug of water with no plumbing at all. The Midea is faucet-only. HAVA's listing doesn't specify a water source, so confirm that on the current listing before ordering if a tank is a requirement for your kitchen.

Is a water softener worth the extra cost in a countertop dishwasher?

If you already deal with limescale on glassware or fixtures, the HAVA's integrated softener addresses a problem that shortens the working life of any small dishwasher's heating element and left untreated, coats dishes in a hard-water film no wash cycle removes. If your water is already soft, the softener does nothing, and you'd get more for the same or less money from the Midea's larger rack or NOVETE's tank flexibility instead.

Keep reading

Next, from this site