Best Portable Dishwashers
Budget Picks · Portable Dishwashers

The Best Portable Dishwashers Under $200

Four countertop dishwashers in our database currently sell for less than $200, and none of them is pretending to be the six-place machine that costs $300. What they're pretending to be is simpler: a tank, a pump, a spray arm and a handful of programs in the smallest box that still washes a plate. Here's what $140 to $190 actually buys, cheapest first, and which corners get cut before any other.

By Ilane Tall4 machines, all under $200Research-based — no testing lab, no invented ratings

A small budget countertop dishwasher on a kitchen counter next to a stack of clean plates
The quick answer

Collier Compact Countertop Dishwasher

The cheapest of the four at $149.99, and the only one at this price that gives you a choice of water source — fill its built-in tank or hook it to the faucet with the included hose adapter. Five wash programs, a compact footprint built for apartments and RVs, and no commitment to any plumbing you don't already have.

$149.99·5 wash programs·tank or faucet·compact footprint
Check price on Amazon →
Collier compact countertop dishwasher
Price (Amazon, checked 2026-09-30)
$149.99

The listing doesn't publish a place-setting count or a plate-diameter limit — check the listing photos against your own dishes before you order.

Fill the tank or clip to the tap.
— whichever your kitchen actually has

Reader-supported: we may earn a commission when you buy through the links on this page, at no additional cost to you. Prices move constantly — confirm the live price before you order.

Two hundred dollars is where the portable-dishwasher market quietly splits in two. Below it, machines compete almost entirely on fitting a tank, a pump and a spray arm into the smallest box Amazon will ship — the build is simple, the program list is short, and the listing copy usually tells you plainly what got left out. Above it, machines start adding a second spray arm as standard, a water softener, a sixth place setting, sometimes an ENERGY STAR label. None of that makes the cheap machines a bad buy. It makes them a specific kind of buy: a tool for washing one or two people's dishes without connecting anything permanent to your kitchen, bought with your eyes open about what the price didn't include.

We pulled every portable dishwasher in our database priced under $200 — four machines, $149.99 to $189.99 — and read every spec sheet rather than the marketing headline. Below: what separates a $140 machine from a $300 one, how much basket space you get, the four picks in price order, which programs survive the cut first, what to check before you buy, and when the extra hundred dollars is worth spending instead.

How this page is built

We compare published specifications, what ships in the box, water source, stated capacity, dimensions and live price. We do not physically test these machines and we do not run a testing lab. Amazon's listing data returns no rating and no review count for any of the four dishwashers below, so there are no stars anywhere on this page — we don't publish a number we can't verify, and we don't paraphrase review sentiment we don't have.

Where a product's listing doesn't state a spec — a place-setting count, a plate diameter, a decibel rating — we say so and tell you to check the listing yourself, rather than guess.

On paper

What separates a $140 machine from a $300 one

The first thing to drop is redundancy in the wash mechanism — though not always the way you'd expect. The BEADSTER, at $169, publishes a double-layer rack and 360° spray; the JOJTETTY and Canbo both specify dual upper-and-lower spray arms. The Collier doesn't say how many spray arms it has at all. The pattern isn't "cheap means fewer parts" so much as "cheap means a thinner listing" — the documentation proving the hardware is the first thing a tight budget listing skips.

The second drop is program count, which tracks price more honestly, with one exception. The JOJTETTY lists four washing modes, the Collier and Canbo list five, and the BEADSTER — second-cheapest of the four — lists eight, including Self-clean, a dedicated Dry program, and an 18-hour delay start most machines twice its price don't offer. Program count here is less a function of dollars than of which single spec a factory decided to lead with.

The third drop is one you won't see until you look for its absence: none of the four lists ENERGY STAR, a water softener beyond the BEADSTER's, Wi-Fi, or a heated drying element. Drying across all four is passive — residual heat, air circulation, or a door that pops at cycle's end — exactly as on machines costing twice as much, so that's a limit of the whole countertop category, not specific to these four.

Capacity

Place settings and basket size you actually get at this price

A place setting is a defined unit — a dinner plate, a side plate or bowl, a glass, a cup and saucer, one person's cutlery — not a marketing word, which is likely why most budget listings avoid quoting one. Of the four here, only the Canbo states anything close to a formal figure, and it's modest: "1 to 3 servings of tableware," plates to 10.5 inches. The BEADSTER publishes a plate ceiling of 10.24 inches on its double-layer rack but no setting count. The JOJTETTY publishes external dimensions — 16.1 × 18.1 × 18.1 inches — but no plate size. The Collier's listing gives neither.

That absence matters: a plate that won't lie flat doesn't get washed, whatever the program count says. Measure your own largest plate and bowl against the listing photos first, and if you regularly serve 11- or 12-inch dinner plates, see our guide to portable dishwashers for fine china and delicate glassware.

Cabinet clearance is the other number worth hunting for, and the JOJTETTY is the one listing that states it: at least 19.88 inches between countertop and wall cabinet, versus its own 18.1-inch height. Standard American wall cabinets hang about 18 inches above the counter, so this machine needs more room than that gap typically gives. If yours sit low, our guide to narrow and shallow portable dishwashers covers tighter footprints.

The picks, cheapest first

Four machines under $200, in price order

01Cheapest

Collier Kitchen Portable Countertop Dishwasher

The lowest-risk way to find out if a tank-or-faucet machine fits your routine
$149.99 · 5 wash programs · built-in tank or faucet hose connection · compact, space-saving

The Collier is the cheapest machine in our database at this size, and its one genuine advantage is flexibility: a built-in water tank for kitchens with no usable tap, plus a hose-and-adapter connection for kitchens that do — a dual-mode design that usually costs more than $150 elsewhere. Amazon's own brand field for this listing reads simply "Generic," common at this tier and not a red flag by itself, but it means no manufacturer page to check for support history.

The trade-offNo place-setting count, plate-diameter figure or spray-arm count is published anywhere on the listing. Check the photos against your own dishes rather than assume parity with the pricier machines below.

Collier compact countertop dishwasher, white
$149.99
Tank or faucetCheck price →
02Most programs

BEADSTER Countertop Dishwasher with Water Softener

Hard-water kitchens and anyone who wants more than a basic wash/rinse cycle
$169.00 · 5 L tank, no hookup · 8 programs incl. Self-clean & Dry · double-layer rack, plates to 10.24 in · child lock, 18-hour delay start

On paper the BEADSTER punches above its price: eight programs — Normal, ECO, Strong, Rapid, Glass, Baby Care, Self-clean and a dedicated Dry cycle — plus a built-in water softener, a double-layer metal rack rated to 10.24-inch plates, and a child lock paired with an 18-hour delay start longer than most machines twice its price publish. See our guide to delay start on a portable dishwasher for what that window is actually good for.

The trade-off"No Hookup" is literal: no faucet-connection mode, only the 5-litre tank. That caps how much you can wash per cycle and means hand-filling before every run.

BEADSTER countertop dishwasher with water softener, black
$169.00
8 programsCheck price →
03Dual water source

JOJTETTY Tabletop Dishwasher, Fully Automatic

Kitchens that want the faucet option but like the tank as a backup
$181.01 · faucet connection or manual fill · 4 programs: 60/45/30/10 min · dual high-pressure spray arms · 16.1 × 18.1 × 18.1 in

This listing is unusually specific for its price: four named programs with run times spelled out — a 60-minute standard wash, a 45-minute strong wash, a 30-minute quick wash and a 10-minute rinse — plus dual high-pressure spray arms rather than a single one. It connects to a faucet or fills by hand, covering both bases the Collier covers at a lower price, and it's the most transparent of the four about cabinet clearance.

The trade-offFour programs is the leanest count here, with no Eco, Glass or Baby Care option the BEADSTER and Canbo both offer. Its 19.88-inch clearance requirement is taller than a standard 18-inch wall-cabinet gap — measure first, or see our guide to narrow and shallow portable dishwashers.

JOJTETTY tabletop dishwasher, black
$181.01
Faucet or manual fillCheck price →
04Most expensive of the four

Canbo Countertop Dishwasher with Built-in Water Tank

One or two people, a tight galley kitchen, an RV, or a boat
$189.99 · built-in tank · 5 programs incl. Fruit & Baby Care · Quick cycle, 29 min · 18.03 × 16.54 × 16.54 in · plates to 10.5 in

The Canbo is the only one of the four to state a serving count — "1 to 3 servings of tableware" — and the only one with a named produce-washing program, alongside Normal, Quick, Eco and Baby Care. The Quick cycle finishes in 29 minutes, dual upper-and-lower spray arms are standard, and there's no plumbing requirement at all — just the tank and a power outlet. See our guide to fruit and produce wash cycles for what Fruit mode mechanically does.

The trade-off"1 to 3 servings" is the smallest stated capacity here, and there's no faucet-connection mode mentioned in the listing — hand-filling the tank before every cycle, same as the BEADSTER.

Canbo countertop dishwasher with built-in water tank, white
$189.99
Smallest capacityCheck price →
At a glance

How the four compare

Ordered cheapest first. Prices move constantly on Amazon — confirm the live price before you buy.

DishwasherWater sourceProgramsStated capacityPrice
Collier CountertopTank or faucet5Not stated$149.99Price
BEADSTER Countertop5 L tank, no hookup8Plates to 10.24 in$169.00Price
JOJTETTY TabletopFaucet or manual fill4Not stated$181.01Price
Canbo CountertopBuilt-in tank51–3 servings, plates to 10.5 in$189.99Price
Cycles

Programs and cycle count: what gets trimmed first

Program count runs from four (JOJTETTY) to eight (BEADSTER). The order in which cycles disappear as price drops is fairly consistent: a core Normal/Standard wash and a fast Quick or Rapid cycle survive almost everywhere, since they're the two bullets every listing leads with. What goes missing first are the specialty programs layered on top — Glass, Baby Care, Eco, Self-clean, and timer features like delay start and child lock. The JOJTETTY's four modes are exactly that stripped-down core, with no Eco or Glass setting named.

The BEADSTER is the exception that proves the point: at $169, its eight-program list — including Self-clean, a dedicated Dry cycle, and an 18-hour delay start — reads like a $250 machine's spec sheet. Program count at this tier tracks which single feature a factory decided to lead with, not a straight line against price; don't assume the priciest has the most features — here it doesn't.

The Canbo sits in the middle with five programs, and one — Fruit — is a genuine point of differentiation rather than a renamed rinse cycle. None of the four lists a sanitize or NSF-rated cycle, standard for this whole price class rather than specific to these machines.

Before you click buy

Build quality signals worth checking before you order

None of these four listings carries a rating or review count we can verify, so the signals worth reading are the ones published in the listing itself, not a star score.

  • Does the brand field carry a name? BEADSTER, JOJTETTY and Canbo all carry a named brand; the Collier's reads simply "Generic" — common at this tier, but it means no manufacturer page to check for support history.
  • Are dimensions and clearance published? The JOJTETTY is the most transparent here, stating both its dimensions and the minimum countertop-to-cabinet clearance it needs — the Collier's listing mentions neither.
  • Is rack and spray-arm hardware named, not just implied? "Dual spray arms" or "double-layer rack" is a more specific, checkable claim than generic "powerful cleaning" copy. BEADSTER, JOJTETTY and Canbo all name their hardware.
  • Is color limited to one option? All four ship in a single stated color, typical of a smaller production run rather than a flaw — but it means no flexibility if the photo doesn't match your kitchen.

If you travel or camp with your dishwasher, a tank-only design like the BEADSTER's or Canbo's removes the clearance and faucet questions entirely — see our guide to portable dishwashers for camping and boats.

The next tier

When it's worth spending the extra $100 instead

Nothing here is a bad machine for what it costs, but a few situations genuinely need the next tier up.

If your household regularly serves dinner plates over 10.5 inches, or you own stemware and fine china you don't want gambled on an unstated rack clearance, none of these four listings commits to a plate diameter you can plan around — see our guides to fine china and delicate glassware and wine glasses and stemware, which cover machines whose listings do publish that number.

If you want app control or remote cycle alerts, that's a feature class this band skips entirely — all four run from a physical panel with no connectivity mentioned anywhere. Our guide to smart features and WiFi explains what you'd actually be paying for.

And if capacity is the real constraint — three or four people rather than one or two — the math stops favoring these machines regardless of price. The Canbo's "1 to 3 servings," and the absent figure on the other three, point the same way: this band is built for light, frequent loads, not a week's dishes in one run.

How we picked

Every portable dishwasher under $200 in our database

We filtered our product database for every portable or countertop dishwasher currently priced below $200 and kept all four that met the bar, rather than selecting a subset. We ordered them cheapest first rather than by a subjective "best overall," since at a $40 spread the deciding factor is what each listing states, not a ranking we'd be inventing.

How we compared

Research, not a lab

We're honest about this: we don't physically test these machines and we don't run a testing lab. We compare published specifications, what ships in the box, water source, program count, dimensions and live pricing, and read manufacturer claims skeptically — capacity and clearance figures here are routinely optimistic. We show no star ratings because we have no rating data we can verify, and we never invent one.

FAQ

Common questions about budget portable dishwashers

Can a $150 portable dishwasher clean as well as a $300 one?

For everyday dishes, the core mechanism is identical: hot water sprayed under pressure with detergent. Budget machines fall behind on capacity, rack documentation and specialty cycles — these four run four to eight programs and mostly don't publish a place-setting count, while pricier machines in our database publish six settings and a heated or auto-open dry cycle. Baked-on pans benefit from a pre-soak either way.

Do these budget dishwashers need a faucet hookup?

It depends on the model. The Collier and JOJTETTY both support a faucet hose connection or manual tank filling. The BEADSTER and Canbo are tank-only — their listings don't mention a faucet mode — so you'll be hand-filling the tank before every cycle on either of those two.

How many place settings do I get for $150 to $190?

Only the Canbo states a figure: "1 to 3 servings of tableware," plates to 10.5 inches. The Collier, BEADSTER and JOJTETTY listings don't commit to a place-setting count or plate diameter at all — check the listing photos against your own dishes rather than assume parity with a fully-specified machine.

What's the first thing manufacturers cut to hit a price under $200?

Specialty programs and documentation, more than core hardware. Cycles like Glass, Eco, Self-clean and delay-start timers disappear first as price drops — the JOJTETTY's four programs are the leanest example here — while a standard wash and a quick cycle survive everywhere. Rack and spray-arm detail is often the second casualty: some listings simply don't say how many spray arms the machine has.

Keep reading

Next, from this site